Fonsie Mealy Auctioneers

The Old Cinema,
Chatsworth Street,
Co. Killkenny,
R95 XV05,

PSRA Registration No: 001687

Find us on Google Maps

Tel: +353 (0)56 4441229
Fax: +353 (0)56 4441627

Lot 668/7025

Estimate: €3000-4000

Rare Signed Historical Document

The Irish Constitution:
Bunreacht na h’Eireann – Constitution of Ireland. Do hAchtuigheadh ag An bPobal An Iadh Iul 1937. (Enacted by the People 1st July, 1937). Roy 8vo D. (Stationary Office) 1937. FIRST EDN. Text in Irish and English, 117pp. all edges gilt, full green morrocco, front cover gilt lettered within single gilt fillet border.

* This Special Limited Edition, signed on front lose fly leaf by Eamon de Valera, the entire cabinet which he appointed in 1938, as follows:
– Eamon de Valera, President and Minister for External Affairs.
– Sean T. O’Kelly, vice-President and Minister for Local Government and Public Health.
– Sean Mac Entee, Minister for Finance.
– Sean Lemass, Minister for Industry and Commerce.
– James Ryan, Minister for Agriculture.
– Frank Aiken, Minister for Defence.
– Patrick J. Ruttledge, Minister for Justice
– Thomas Derrig, Minister for Education
– Gerald Boland, Minister for Posts and Telegraphs
– Oscar Traynor
– P.J. Little
– Maurice Moynihan

the 1937 Constitution was introduced by Eamon de Valera on the Fifth Anniversary of Fianna Fail’s First Government.

From the library of Attorney General Patrick Lynch, K.C., and signed with initials and dated 10/5/38 by him on front fly leaf. Lynch was a solicitor and politician, he was Attorney-General of the Irish Free State from 1936 & 1937, and was re-appointed by Dev under the new Constitution from 1937 to 1940. Through Patrick Lynch’s family the present owner inherited by descent.
A most desirable and historical document. (1)

Contact us

Tel: +353 (0)56 4441229 Email: